…r & r…

A Viollet-le-Duc google doodle this morning reminds us of some of the “r & r” of life,–Gothic revival and restoration!

One doesn’t need to look far to see Vancouver’s Gothic stylistic Holy Rosary Cathedral on Dunsmuir Street, the Seaforth Armoury on Burrard or the Beatty Street Drill Hall or in the academic spheres of the city, Point Grey Secondary & St. George’s school or the chemistry building at UBC.

Interestingly enough, Viollet-le-Duc was commissioned to design the internal structure of New York City’s Statue of Liberty, but sadly died in 1879 before the project was completed. His gaining prominence in his home country of France was evidently through his restorative work on the famous Notre Dame de Paris Cathedral.

Cheers to revival!—“in the bulb, there is a flower, in the seed an apple tree, in cocoons a hidden promise, butterflies will soon be free!; In the cold & snow of winter, there’s a spring that waits to be, unrevealed until its season…” something we should always see!…

The “Do-It-Yourselfers” of our day will have some appreciation for hardware stores. In Canada, we have a popular independent owners franchise of stores called “Home Hardware” where “Home” owners help “homeowners” with advice! And of course, most of us have likely heard of the American public company that operates “Restoration Hardware” that got its start providing hard-to-find “period” hardware and furnishings of the early 20th century!…

It’s a bit of fun finding out from folks just what they like to do to restore themselves!

Actress Audrey Hepburn once said “I have to be alone very often. I’d be quite happy to spend from Saturday night to Monday morning alone in my apartment.”

Others say–I repair, I paint, I write, I play.., I knit, I sew, I read, I cook, I bake, I run, I swim, I sing!!….

Whatever it is that’s on your agenda going forward, I hope there’s been rest and relaxation in your weekend, and may the week ahead be resplendent with revival & restoration that has you singing like a cobbler:—–all is well with my soul!

Keep smiling!

Leave a Reply

