…Larkspur…

A signmaker for the district of North Vancouver retires “after making us look twice for 14 years!”  That’s right, one of his much noticed signs reads: 

“ATTENTION DOG GUARDIANS: Pick up after your dogs. Thank you. ATTENTION DOGS: Grrrr, Bark, Woof, Good dog”…..

According to management, once they saw that quirky signs could be more effective he was given full rein. Another sign reads: “These flower beds are now metric. PLEASE NO FEET”

Cheers to happy retiring!….”Slow down: retirees crossing”……could it be a sign?!!…..

As undergrad new university students gear up for September, a fun excerpt from a Globe and Mail columnist is worth sharing:

“More years ago than I care to think, my mother drove me to the small town five hours from Toronto where I was about to start university. Everything I owned was stuffed in the back of her Volkswagen Beetle. I was anxious and excited. I was worried that everyone would be smarter than me, to say nothing of more worldly and more sexually experienced. I hoped I would like my roommate. I hoped she wouldn’t be too tall. 

The most important things you learn at university will last you all your life. Mine go like this:

  • Rewriting something always makes it better.
  • You can go two nights without sleep, but not three.
  • Most people you’ll meet are just as sexually insecure as you are.
  • Ideas are intoxicating and unlike beer, they won’t give you a hangover.
  • Men come and men go, but great art is forever.
  • Everything you really need can fit in the back of a Volkswagen.”

Cheers to new adventures!…….

Another articles suggests that corn is in season so eat lots!!!….

Mexican street food grilled corn….Grilled Corn with pesto slather….Grilled Corn with Moroccan slather….it goes on to describe!…..

A Green Cornfield

The earth was green, the sky was blue:
I saw and heard one sunny morn
A skylark hang betweent he two,
A singing speck above the corn;

A stage below, in gay accord,
White butterflies danced on the wing,
And still the singing skylark soared,
And silent sank and soared to sing.

The cornfield stretched a tender green
To right and left beside my walks;
I knew he had a nest unseen
Somewhere among the million stalks.

And as I paused to hear his song
While swift the sunny moments slid,
Perhaps his mate sat listening long,
And listened longer than I did. – Christina Georgina Rosetti

 
May your Tuesday have you appreciating blue sunny skies and may song spur the lark in you!….
Leave a Reply

